Walcot Holy Trinity, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Walcot Holy Trinity, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Walcot Holy Trinity, Somerset|
|County||Somerset, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Bath|
|Parish registers: 1840|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Walcot Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Somerset, created in 1839 from Walcot, Somerset Genealogy Ancient Parish.
WALCOT Holy Trinity was one of several chapels of ease which subdivided the parish boundary of Walcot St Swithin, and was built by the year 1840 (when church registers commence) to ease the large population within the ancient parish.
WALCOT (St Swithin), a parish, in the union of Bath, partly within the city of Bath, and partly in the hundred of Bath-Forum, east division of Somerset. The parish includes those parts of the city lying on the north, north-east, and north-west sides of the parish of Bath St Michael; also some handsome ranges of buildings on the declivities of Lansdown and Beacon hills.
- Kensington Chapel - 1795 (a district chapelry)
- St Mary's Chapel, Queen-square - 1735 (see under Bath Abbey St Peter & St Paul)
- Walcot Avon Street Chapel - by 1825 (formerly a nonconformist chapel)
- Walcot All Saints, Lansdown Place - 1794
- Walcot Christ Church - 1798
- Walcot Holy Trinity Church, st James St - 1840 (a district chapel)
- Walcot St Stephen, Lansdown - 1845
- Walcot St Saviour - 1840
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Somerset Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.