Waldron, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Waldron, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield|
|Parish registers: 1564|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WALDRON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Shiplake, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Uckfield. The church is partly in the early and partly in the later English style, with an embattled tower: from the churchyard is an extensive view, embracing the town of Lewes and the South Downs. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
Waldron is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex which includes Cross in Hand and Horam. The civil parish of Heathfield and Waldron includes Heathfield , Waldorn, Cross-in-Hand,Broad Oak, Punnetts Town, Little London and Cade Street.
A history of the church All Saints A chapel of ease St Bartholomew, Cross-in-Hand was dedicated in 1863 to house parishioners whilst All Saints was renovated.
The parish church of All Saints (Heathfield and Waldron) Waldron Village has been designated a grade I listed building listed building
Horam Chapel is in the village of Horam and is a modern Evangelical chapel.See also Horam Christ Church, Sussex which was formed from this Ancient Parish
The Cross-in Hand Methodist Church is part of the Eastbourne Circuit and opened in 1896.
The Gamelands Methodist Church Horam is part of the Eastbourne Circuit and was founded in 1900.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Church records[edit | edit source]
Waldron, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Waldron, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Waldron
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 436-439. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.