Walesby, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Walesby, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
| Walesby, Nottinghamshire | |
|---|---|
 Walesby St Edmund Nottingham | |
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Bassetlaw |
| County | Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Southwell |
| Registration District | Southwell |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1580 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1606 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Retford |
| Diocese | Lincoln |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York |
| Location of Archive | |
| Nottinghamshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WALESBY (St. Edmund), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (N. E.) from Ollerton.[1]
Additional information:
Walesby St Edmund is an Ancient parish in the newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.
The parish Church of St Edmund has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Walesby Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Walesby, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2] |
| Walesby, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FMP | Undefined | Undefined | Undefined | |||
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Walesby St Edmund Baptisms 1580-1901Marriages 1594-1956 Burials 1585-1960 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1865
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Walesby
Walesby. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1752, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/33 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, pages 29-30 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
![[tree]](/wiki/en/File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
