Walkeringham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Walkeringham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Walkeringham St Mary Magdalen Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Gainsborough|
|Parish registers: 1605|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Pre-1800 - Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York ; Post-1799 - Court of the Manor of Gringley-on-the-Hill or Bawtry|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WALKERINGHAM (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Gainsborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.
Walkeringham St Mary Magdalene St Mary Magdalene is an extensive Ancient Parish whose boundaries form part of the county boundary with Lincolnshire neighbours East Stockwith with Walkerwith, Lincolnshire Genealogy and Morton, Lincolnshire.
Church history Walkeringham St Mary Magdalene
The parish church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Walkeringham Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Walkeringham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Walkeringham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1613-1904 Marriages 1605-1950 Burials 1606-1955 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1852
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Walkeringham
Monumental Inscriptions: of Beckingham Church Yard, Gringley on the Hill, Walkeringham - ranging from 1896-1987, and the Garden of Remembrance from 1827 onwards. Article has a Surname Index. and is to be found in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 132, pages 1-38, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
1831 Census - Walkeringham. Census taken on May 30, 1831, showing head of house hold, and number male or females, and age group. Original in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 628, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 95 pages 90-94, FAHL Ref 942.52 D25n
[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..