Walsall Wood St John, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Walsall Wood St John, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Walsall Wood St John, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Walsall|
|Parish registers: 1835|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Walsall Wood [St John] is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 from Walsall [St Matthew] Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Shelfield, Walsall Wood and Sheffield, and Walsall and Shefield.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Walsall Wood St John was formed from Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire EP in 1845
Walsall Wood St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|WALSALL WOOD ST JOHN PARISH (1829) Online Records|
|FMP||1837-1900||1837-1900||1845-1876, 1890-1900||1845-1876, 1890-1900||1837-1876, 1882-1900||1837-1876, 1882-1900|
Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.