Warminghurst, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Warminghurst Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Thakeham|
|Parish registers: 1714|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WARMINGHURST, a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of East Easwrith, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 12 miles (N. W. by N.) from Shoreham. The church is in the later English style, and contains neat monuments to the families of Shelley and Butler. Penn, the founder of Pennsylvania, resided for several years in the parish.
Warminghurst Holy Sepulchre is an Ancient Parish in the Horsham District of West Sussex. the church was declared redundant in 1979 and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.
A church history Warminghurst Holy Sepulchre
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Warminghurst, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Warminghurst, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|PRTS||1560-1901||1562-1649, 1663-1837, 1839-1902||1560-1905|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Warminghurst
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 470-475. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.