To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Warmington, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Warmington, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Warmington, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Polebrook
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WARMINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Oundle, chiefly in the hundred of Polebrook, but partly in that of Willybrook, N. division of the county of Northampton, 3¼ miles (N. E.) from Oundle. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Warmington, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Warmington, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1872 1813-1872 1813-1872 1813-1872
AC PRs 1813-1859 1813-1859 1813-1876 1813-1876
FREG 1719-1859 1719-1799 1719-1876

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]

Martin, Shirley. The Martin Family. History and descendants of William Martin who married (1)Jane Frisby, 29 March 1725 and (2) Elisabeth Broughton, 1743 at Oundle Parish, Northants, with their children being baptised there. Descendants appear to move to Tansor, Northamptonshire, Coston, and Warmington, Notts, Selston. Surnames listed: Broughton, Thorrow, Pentiloe, Pywell, Chambers, Bailey, Ellis, Tall, Sheffield, Brudenell, Bloodworth, Sanderson, Hight and Housden. Article dated 1725-1975, and is found in Footprints, vol.6.no.3. pages77-78. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol. 6.no.3.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.