Warren County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Warren County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: McMinnville
Organized: November 26, 1807
Parent County(s): White[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cannon  • Coffee  • DeKalb  • Grundy  • Sequatchie  • Van Buren  • White
See County Maps
Courthouse
Warren County, Tennessee Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Warren County Tennessee.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Joseph Warren (1741-1775), a soldier in the American Revolution. The County is located in the central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Warren County Courthouse
201 Locust Street 111S Court Square
McMinnville, TN 37110
County Courthouse Phone: 931-473-2623

County Clerk has marriage records from 1852, death records from 1925 and probate records from 1827.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Warren County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1852 1881 1842 1808 1827 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1852 Fire damaged the courthouse records.[7]
  • Lost census: 1810
  • Lost marriage records: 1808 to 1851.[8]
  • Lost probate records: 1808 to 1826

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1807--Warren County was established 26 November 1807 from White County. Early records may be found under White County.
  • County seat: McMinnville[9]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Bates Hill Earleyville Jessie Safley
Berea Evanston (hist.) Lawson Mill Shady Rest
Bethany Fairview Lucky Shellsford
Blue Hill Faulkner Springs Magnum (hist.) Smartt
Bluff Springs Flatwood McMinnville Smyrna
Bratchers Crossroads Gath Midway Spring Creek
Cambridge Goodbars Morrison Trousdale
Campaign Green Hill Mount Leo Union
Centertown Greens Crossroad Mount Zion Vervilla
Clearmont Groves (hist.) New (hist.) Viola
Crisp Spring Hanlan (hist.) Nicholson Springs (hist.) West Riverside
Curtistown Hiawassee Oak Grove Womack
Daylight Hillis (hist.) Oakland Yager
Devenport (hist.) Horseshoe Falls (hist.) Rock Island
Dibrell Irving College Rowland

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information

Dr. Joseph Warren (1741-1775)

Middle Tennessee county.

The county is named after Dr. Joseph Warren (1741-1775), "American Revolutionary War officer, who sent Paul Revere on his famous midnight ride."[10]

During the first two years of the county’s existence court sessions were held at the home of Joseph Westmoreland and in a log courthouse built nearby on the east side of Barren Fork of Collins River.[11]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • All of the family biographies from the History of Warren County, Tennessee (1887) by Goodspeed Publishing Co., are available online at My Genealogy Hound.website

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004.FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Warren County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Warren County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 5,725
1820 10,348 80.8%
1830 15,210 47.0%
1840 10,803 −29.0%
1850 10,179 −5.8%
1860 11,147 9.5%
1870 12,714 14.1%
1880 14,079 10.7%
1890 14,413 2.4%
1900 16,410 13.9%
1910 16,534 0.8%
1920 17,306 4.7%
1930 20,209 16.8%
1940 19,764 −2.2%
1950 22,271 12.7%
1960 23,102 3.7%
1970 26,972 16.8%
1980 32,653 21.1%
1990 32,992 1.0%
2000 38,276 16.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Warren County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Warren County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files and scanned images of census microfilm. The USGenWeb Census Project®.

1810 Lost A substitute is available:

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.

1810-1891

1820

  • Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
  • Census takers found no free African Americans living in Warren County, Tennessee in 1820.[12]

1820 Manufactures

  • The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518. The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. Aonline index, provided by Lineages will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:
  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Covers this county.

1840

  • Bridgewater, Betty Anderson. 1840 Federal census of Warren County, Tennessee. McMinnville, Tennessee: Eliza Lyon Mitchell Chapter of the Questers, 1985. FHL 976.8653 X2b 1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

  • Population schedule of the United States Census of 1850, Seventh Census for Warren County, Tennessee. Typescript, 1958. FHL 976.8653 X2p 1850

1870

  • Hillis, Robert A. 1870 Warren County, Tennessee, Census. Tennessee: R.A.C. Hillis, 1988. FHL 976.8653 X2h 1870

1880

  • Hillis, Robert A. 1880 Warren County, Tennessee, Census. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 1988. FHL 976.8653 X2h 1880

1891 Male Voters

1900

  • Hillis, Robert A. 1900 Warren County, Tennessee, Census. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 1988. FHL 976.8653 X2h 1900

1910

  • Hillis, Robert A. 1910 Warren County, Tennessee, Census. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 1988. FHL 976.8653 X2h 1910

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration.For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

  • Warren County Church Records
FamilySearch Catalog - Warren County Church Records
  • Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.
- FamilySearch Catalog - Warren County Church History
  • If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Warren County are:
- List of Warren County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Warren County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)

Baptist

  • The Primitive Baptist and Methodists established a church in the 6th District in 1809 or 1810.[13]
  • 1816-1935 - Caney Fork Primitive Baptist Church Records. Warren County, 1816-1935. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #178. FHL 570851 Item 2 (This church is in the 10th District.)
  • 1831-1912 - Liberty Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. McMinnville, 1831-1869; Friendship Baptist Church Records. Warren County, 1831-1912. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #259.
  • 1831-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Liberty Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. McMinnville, 1831-1869; Friendship Baptist Church Records. Warren County, 1831-1912.
  • Grime, John Harvey. History of Middle Tennessee Baptists: With Special Reference to Salem, New Salem, Enon and Wiseman Associations. Nashville, Tennessee: Baptist and Reflector, 1902. Includes name changes for places in Middle Tennessee. Free digital copy.

Methodist

  • 1820 - By 1820 a Methodist church, Mt. Zion, had opened its doors in the 5th District.[14]
  • 1898-1967 - Methodist Church Records. Warren and Coffee Counties, 1898-1967.Manuscript. TSLA Reel #375.
  • 1898-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to Methodist Church Records. Warren and Coffee Counties, 1898-1967.

Presbyterian

  • 1831-1869 - Liberty Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. McMinnville, 1831-1869; Friendship Baptist Church Records. Warren County, 1831-1912. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #259.
  • 1831-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Liberty Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. McMinnville, 1831-1869; Friendship Baptist Church Records. Warren County, 1831-1912.
  • 1871-1885 - Main Street Presbyterian Church, McMinnville, Baptism Index 1871-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C711451[15]
  • 1871-1895 - Main Street Presbyterian Church, McMinnville, Marriage Index 1871-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M711451.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. [16] January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

DNA

  • DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Warren County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • Brown - Descendant of Thomas Brown, b. 1753 Augusta County, Virginia, d. 1849 Warren County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 82180). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 2), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.

General

Bibliography

  • Dodson - Lynn, Catherine Gaffin. The Dodson Family of Warren County, Tennessee and Allied Families. Centerville, Tenn.: Lynn, 1974. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D668Lc.
  • Gray - Ames, Edwina Gray Powers and Stanley Richard Ames. Gray, Powers and Their Interrelated Families, Descendants of Col. Thomas Holden Wade: Including Arledge, Bailes, Butts (Virginia), Dupree, Hendricks, Legg, Martin, Massenburg, McWilliams, Sims, Wade of Limestone County, Alabama. Rochester, New York: S.R. Ames Enterprises, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 G791am.
  • Hammon - Hammons, Bob D. The Hammons from Warren County, Tennessee thru Texas and Arkansas to Oklahoma: with Allied Families of Bryan, Phillips, Sullivan, Lane and Grigg. Sallisaw, Oklahoma: B.D. Hammons, 1994. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H184hb.
  • Mullican - Kochanski, Lois Whidden. The Mullican Family of Warren County, Tennessee: A History and Genealogy. Bethesda, Md.: L. Kochanski, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M917k.
  • Pepper - Raya, Florence Pepper. The History of the Pepper Family in America and Allied Lines. Madison, Iowa: Evening Democrat Co., 1973. FHL 929.273 P395r

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1808-1818 - W.P.A. Warren County, Deeds, Book A. Typescript, TSLA, Roll 83 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells three Warren County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.
  • 1812-1819 - W.P.A. Warren County, Deeds, Book B, Parts I & II. Typescript, TSLA, Roll 83 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells three Warren County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.
  • 1823-1826 - W.P.A. Warren County, Deeds, Book E. Typescript, TSLA, Roll 83 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells three Warren County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • The Goodspeed Histories of Cannon, Coffee, DeKalb, Warren and White Counties: With Biographical Sketches and Aboriginal Map of Tennessee. McMinnville, TN: B. Lomond Press, 1972. Reprint. Originally published: Nashville, TN: Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1887. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 924077 Item 2. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($). Available for purchase at Quintin Publications.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Cannon CountyVan Buren CountyWhite CountyDeKalb CountySequatchie CountyGrundy CountyCoffee CountyTN WARREN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Warren County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional information

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Warren County pensioners (p. 98).
  • Warren County in the War of 1812 Courtesy:TNGenWeb

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warren County:

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Warren County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Warren County click on the following city:

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
  • 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The Warren County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

Online Records and Indexes


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1827-1910 - Majors, Betty Moore. Warren County, Tennessee Will Books. 3 volumes. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 1992-1993, 1996. Indexed. (FHL book 976.8653 P2m v. 1-3.)
  • 1827-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills and Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.
  • 1827-1844, 1852-1864 - W.P.A. Inventories, Sale Bills, Statements, etc., Book 1, Parts I & II. Typescript, TSLA, Roll 83 of Record Group 107. Microfilmed in the 1930s. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells three Warren County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1804 Gant, Wanda. "Alphabetically Arranged Wilson Co., TN 1804 Tax List by Company: Arranged in Order to Compare to Warren County Names," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives. Source: TSLA list.
  • 1805, 1812, 1817 Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. Includes 1805, 1812, and 1817 tax lists.
  • 1812 Warren Co. Tax List, 1812. Early Tax Lists reel #5, TSLA, Nashville.
  • 1812 Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810. Cites Warren Co. Tax List, 1812 as a source.
  • 1812 - West, Betsy. "Warren County, Tennessee Tax List, 1812," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 19, No. 3 (July-Sep. 1972):107-112. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Warren.
  • 1812 Combs-Coombs &c. "1812 Warren Co, Tennessee Tax Lists (A Start toward an Annotated List) Index and Search Engine," available online, courtesy: Combs-Coombs &c. Research Group and Warren Co., TNGenWeb.
  • 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Warren. Includes Warren County.
  • 1836 Tax List, 1836, Van Buren County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Jun. 1988).
  • 1836 - Gant, Wanda Muncey. "Warren County, Tennessee 1836 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 36, No. 1 (Spring 1989):9-14; Vol. 36, No. 2 (Summer 1989):77-80. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Warren.
  • 1836 Gant, Wanda Muncey. "1836 Warren County Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • 1836, 1838 Gant, Wanda Muncey. Warren County, Tennessee Research Information. McMinnville, Tennessee W.M. Gant, 199-?. FHL 976.8653 R4g
  • 1838 Gant, Wanda Muncey. "1838 Warren County Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • 1854 Gant, Wanda Muncey. "Warren County, Tennessee 1854 Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • 1859 Assessment of Personal Property, 1859, Dist. 14, Warren County Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Winter 1998).
  • 1860 Personal Property, 1860, Warren County Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Spring 1994).
  • 1860 Assessment of Personal Property, 1860, Dist. 14, Warren County Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Winter 1998).
  • 1895 Tax Book, 1895, District 13, Warren County Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Winter 1998).
  • 1917 Delinquent Taxpayers Notice, June 1917, Warren County Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 2000).

For missing years, an alternative resource to consider is "Tennessee Legislative Petitions". You can order copies at Ordering Legislative Petitions.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online indexes and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1850-1900 - An Alphabetical Listing of the Marriage Records of Warren County, Tennessee, 1852-1900. FHL book 976.8653 V2c
  • 1852-1865 - Warren County, Tennessee, Marriages, 1852-1865. FHL Book 976.8653 V2s
  • 1852-1871 - Index to marriage records, Warren County, Tennessee: June 22, 1852-February 28, 1871, book "A" book "1." FHL Book 976.8653 V22i
  • 1900-1975 - Hillis, Robert A. Marriage Records, Warren County, Tennessee. FHL Book 976.8653 V28h 2 vols.

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Warren County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Warren County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Magness Community House Library
118 W Main St.
McMinnville, TN 37110
Phone: 931-473-2428
General E-mail: magnesslib@blomand.net
Website

The library's catalog is online. The Tennessee Room houses the local history and genealogy department. The Southern Heritage Room contains a collection of books, periodicals and videotapes about the history, culture and economy of the Southern United States.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Warren County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.

Warren County Genealogical & Historical Association
201 Locust Street
McMinnville, TN 37111
Facebook
website

Quarterly publication: The Bulletin: The Publication of Warren County Genealogical Association. A table of contents from 1992 to 2007 is accessible from the society's website. The Warren County Genealogical Association was organized in 1992.

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
Website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Warren County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Warren, Tennessee" in wikipedia accessed 09 Jan 2019
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
  8. Marriage Records, Warren County, Tennessee. [1852-1899] McMinnville, Tenn.: Womack Print. Co., 1965, page 2. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  11. Nona Williams Warren County Tennessee Plat Book Vol 1 1824-1827 (Santa Cruz, California : Nona Williams, 1997)Page i.
  12. *Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website.
  13. Nona Williams Warren County Tennessee Plat Book Vol 1 1824-1827 (Santa Cruz, California: Nona Williams, 1997) Page ii
  14. Nona Williams Warren County Tennessee Plat Book Vol 1 1824-1827 (Santa Cruz, California : Nona Williams, 1997) Page ii
  15. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at Media:Igitennessees.pdf.
  16. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  17. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at PDF.
  18. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at PDF.