Washington County, Maine Genealogy
Guide to Washington County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Washington County, Maine|
Location in the state of Maine
|Founded||June 25, 1789|
|Address||Washington County Courthouse|
PO Box 297
Machias, ME 04654-0297
Washington County Website
- 1 Description
- 2 Washington County, Maine Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Town History
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Cemeteries
- 6.2 Church
- 6.3 Court
- 6.4 Emigration and Immigration
- 6.5 Gazetteers
- 6.6 Land
- 6.7 Local Histories
- 6.8 Maps
- 6.9 Military
- 6.10 Naturalization
- 6.11 Newspapers
- 6.12 Probate
- 6.13 Taxation
- 6.14 Vital Records
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for George Washington. The County has Machias as its seat and the County was created June 25, 1789. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Washington County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
- Clerk of the Court has divorce and court records from 1931, probate records from 1785, land records from 1783 and naturalization records from 1854.
- Maine State Archives, Augusta, has divorce and court records before 1931.
Town History[edit | edit source]
Go to [ Archive.org] to find published materials for this town.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Towns and Cities
Plantations. For further details see Maine plantations.
Unorganized territories. Within each group townships are listed from southeast to northwest. For further details see Maine townships.
Communities • Machias • Woodland
Village • Forest City
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|USGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||[Billion Graves (name)|
|Billion Graves (cemetery)|
|See Maine Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1620-2014 - Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — index
- 1676-1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1780-1999 - Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1837 - 1965 - Maine & Massachusetts Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen 1837-1965 at FamilySearch - images
- 1947-1954 - Maine Crew Lists Arriving at Robbinston 1947-1954 at FamilySearch— index and images
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Washington County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1676 - 1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1718 - 1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1835 - 1838 - Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1950 - Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1917-1919 - Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1918-1991 - Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
- 1589-1966 - Maine, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1670 - 1921 - Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Washington County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Washington County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Washington County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Washington County
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Maine."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
- Before an extinct town or plantation was discontinued, chances are it created official records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
- Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 119. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.