Washington County, Vermont Genealogy
Guide to Washington County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Washington County, Vermont | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Vermont, United States Genealogy | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 8, 1814 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Montpelier |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Washington County Courthouse 65 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05601-0426 Mailing Address: P.O. Box 426, Montpelier, VT 05601-0426 Phone: 802-223-2091 Washington County Website |
Contents
Description[edit | edit source]
The County is located in the north center area of the state. [1]
Washington County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1881 | Unknown | 1811 | 1790 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Secretary of State, Montpelier has birth, marriage and death records; County Clerk has divorce and court records; Probate Court has probate records; Town and City Clerks have land records.
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Barre 1781
Berlin 1763
Calais 1781
Duxbury 1763
Marshfield 1782
Middlesex 1763
Montpelier 1781
Moretown 1763
Northfield 1781
Plainfield 1797
Roxbury 1781
Waitsfield 1782
Warren 1780
Waterbury 1763
Worcester 1763 [3]
Brief History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- Renamed 8 November 1814 from Jefferson County, Vermont. [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Cities:
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit
HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
Cities:
Towns:
Villages:
|
|
Communities:
|
|
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Addison | Caledonia | Chittenden | Lamoille | Orange
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| VTGenWeb Archives | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| VTTombstone Project | FamilySearch Places | |
| VTInterment | ||
| VTGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Vermont Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- List of Washington County Cemeteries
- Random Acts VT Cemetery Records Research Guide
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 14,113 | — |
| 1830 | 21,378 | 51.5% |
| 1840 | 23,506 | 10.0% |
| 1850 | 24,654 | 4.9% |
| 1860 | 27,612 | 12.0% |
| 1870 | 26,520 | −4.0% |
| 1880 | 25,404 | −4.2% |
| 1890 | 29,606 | 16.5% |
| 1900 | 36,607 | 23.6% |
| 1910 | 41,702 | 13.9% |
| 1920 | 38,921 | −6.7% |
| 1930 | 41,733 | 7.2% |
| 1940 | 41,546 | −0.4% |
| 1950 | 42,870 | 3.2% |
| 1960 | 42,860 | −0.0% |
| 1970 | 47,659 | 11.2% |
| 1980 | 52,393 | 9.9% |
| 1990 | 54,928 | 4.8% |
| 2000 | 58,039 | 5.7% |
| 2010 | 59,534 | 2.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments and Companies:
- - 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- - 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G, H and K
- - 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1749 - 1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 - 1921 Vermont Probate Files 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — images — How to Use this Collection
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at
Vermont, Washington County, Probate Estate Files - FamilySearch Historical Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Town Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2005 - Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1732 - 2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1850 - 2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:
- Birth Certificate,
- Marriage Certificate ,
- Divorce Certificate,
- Civil Union Dissolution Certificate, or
- Death Certificate
Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
Historical Societies[edit | edit source]
Cabot Historical Society
PO Box 275
3216 Main Street
Cabot, Vermont 05647
Phone: 802-563-3396
E-mail:cabothistorical@gmail.com
Website
Duxbury Historical Society
Duxbury Town Office, VT Route 100
Duxbury, VT 05676
Phone: 802-244-7558
Website
East Montpelier Historical Society
PO Box 63
East Montpelier, VT 05651
Phone: 802-223-6886
E-mail:ave.coburn@comcast.net
Website
Fayston Historical Society
3685 North Fayston Road
Moretown, VT 05660
Phone: 802-496-2083
Website
Middlesex Historical Society
5 Church Street
Middlesex, VT 05602
Phone: 802-272-8074
E-mail:ave.coburn@comcast.net
Website
Waitsfield Historical Society
General Benjamin Wait House
VT Route 100
PO Box 816
Waitsfield, VT 05673
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Washington County, VT History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Vermont Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog FamilySearch Catalog for Washington County
- The Washington County VTGenWeb Project, a member of The VTGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Washington County
- Northeast KIngdom Genealogy for the counties of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans. It also has some limited information for some surrounding areas.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Washington, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699 Washington County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Washington_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Vermont accessed 29 October 2019.
| ||||||
