Wattwil Parish, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wattwil Parish, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Karte Gemeinde Wattwil 2013.png

Geography[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Locations within Wattwil[edit | edit source]

Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The following church records are available online from the State Archive of Sankt Gallen for Wattwil:

Evangelical Reformed[edit | edit source]

Baptisms (1612-1692), marriages (1603-1691), and burials (1624-1634, 1643-1689)
Baptisms (1693-1720), marriages (1693-1720), and burials (1691-1720)
Baptisms (1721-1757), confirmations (1752-1757), marriages (1721-1757), and burials (1721-1757)
Baptisms (1757-1799), confirmations (1758-1798), marriages (1757-1799), and burials (1758-1798)
Baptisms (1799-1839), confirmations (1799-1838), marriages (1800-1839), and burials (1799-1839)

Baptisms (1829-1835)
Baptisms (1840-1889)
Baptisms (1889-1954) -- unavailable online

Marriages (1840-1874) and confirmations (1840-1895)
Marriages (1874-1973) -- unavailable online

Burials (1840-1895)
Burials (1896-1962)

Register of citizens (1862-)

Family book, index A-K (1862-)
Family book, index L-Z (1862-)
Family book, index (1862-)
Family book, volume 1 (1-299) (1773-1905) - Abderhalden-Bösch
Family book, volume 2 (300-600) (1783-1893) - Bösch-Giezendanner
Family book, volume 3 (601-900b) (1790-1912) - Giezendanner-Mettler
Family book, volume 4 (901-1191) (1795-1880) - Mettler-Wagner
Family book, volume 5 (1192-1492) (1779-1888)
Family book, volume 6 (1493-1793) (1853-1891)
Family book, volume 7 (1794-2094) (1864-1917)
Family book, volume 8 (2095-2396) (1874-1891)
Family book, volume 9 (2397-2697) (1883-1919) -- unavailable online
Family book, volume 10 (2698-2745) (1905-1920) -- unavailable online

Family book, non-citizen residents (1822-1876)
Family book, non-citizen residents (1856-1891)
Family book, non-citizen residents (1869-1920) -- unavailable online

Catholic[edit | edit source]

Baptisms (1596-1622), marriages (1593-1613), and burials (1605-1614)
Baptisms (1624-1701), confirmations (1637-1694), marriages (1624-1700), and burials (1624-1701)
Baptisms (1701-1785)
Burials (1701-1785)
Baptisms (1786-1841), confirmations (1790-1856), marriages (1786-1841), and burials (1786-1841)
Baptisms (1863-1903), marriages (1863-1903), and burials (1863-1903)

Family book (1750-1876)

Census Records[edit | edit source]

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Wattwil:

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Wattwil families:

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Surnames[edit | edit source]

The following surnames held citizenship in Wattwil prior to 1875:

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Cantonal Archive of Sankt Gallen

References[edit | edit source]

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland