To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Waynesboro Public Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Virginia
Augusta County
Waynesboro Public LIbrary
Waynesboro Public Library

Contact Information[edit | edit source]

Email: osbournekf@ci.waynesboro.va.us

Website: https://www.waynesboro.va.us/354/Library
Address: 600 S. Wayne Ave., Waynesboro, VA 22980

Telephone: Phone 540-942-6746; Fax 540-942-6753
Hours of Operation: Traveling to use our collection? The Genealogy Room is subject to closing without notice, please call ahead (phone 540-942-6584) to ensure the room is open and the resources are available. We cannot guarantee access without prior notice. Customers under the age of 13 require adult supervision. Our hours are as follows:

Monday:         9 am - 12 pm & 1 pm - 5 pm

Tuesday:        9 am - 12 pm & 1 pm - 5 pm

Wednesday:   9 am - 12 pm & 5 pm - 9 pm

Thursday:       9 am - 12 pm & 1 pm - 5 pm  

Friday          9 am - 12 pm & 1 pm - 5 pm

Please note our closure schedule: Closed Friday 9/27/19 and 12/6/19.

The Local History Room is only open on select Fridays and Saturdays. On these days it will be closed from 12 pm-1 pm. The schedule of available Fridays and Saturdays is posted.

SPECIAL SCHEDULED SATURDAYS 2019:

Sept. 28 and  Dec. 7: 9 am - 12 pm & 1 pm- 5 pm

The room is closed:

12 pm – 1 pm every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday,

1 pm - 5 pm every Wednesday

Again, please call ahead at 540-942-6584 to ensure the Genealogy and Local History rooms will be open when you plan to visit.

Directions/Parking Map:

Description of Collections[edit | edit source]

Founded in 1912 by the Philathea Class of First Baptist Church, Waynesboro's library was the third Virginia library to take advantage of the state law permitting the establishment of tax-supported public libraries. The first librarian was Virginia Leftwich, the mother of Ruth Graham (Mrs. Billy Graham). The Carnegie Foundation presented a grant of $8000 for construction of a library building, which opened in July 1915. The first library building is still located on Walnut Avenue across from Fishburne Military Academy. In 1969, a new library was built on the corner of Wayne Avenue and 14th Street. Our library is located in the beautiful and historic Shenandoah Valley, about 90 miles west of Richmond, VA and is well-known for its extensive local history collection for Waynesboro and Augusta County as well as its genealogy resources. The Waynesboro Public Library has one of the largest local history and genealogical collections in the area. The book collection contains obituary books, county records, city directories, school yearbooks, military resources, and more. The archival file collection contains cemetery records, family records, histories of local businesses, and other documents of local interest. The microfilm collection includes census records, county records, and local newspapers.

Online materials available at the library include:

Ancestry Library Edition is only available in house at the library via our public computers or Wi-Fi. Ancestrylibrary.com offers unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world!

Free access to select content from Ancestry.com is provided by the Library of Virginia (the state archives). Included data collections: Alabama, Texas and Virginia, Confederate Pensions, 1884-1958; Virginia, Birth Records, 1912-2014, Delayed Birth Records, 1854-1911; Virginia, Death Records, 1912-2014; Virginia, Marriage Records, 1936-2014; and Virginia, Divorce Records, 1918-2014.

FamilySearch. FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history.

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Waynesboro Public Library has contributed 34 Volumes of The Skyline, the Waynesboro High School yearbook, to the Internet Archive. You can view and download the yearbooks.