Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||West Bromwich|
|Registration District||West Bromwich|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WEDNESBURY (St. Bartholomew), a market town and parish, in the union of West Bromwich, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 19 miles (S. S. E.) from Stafford, and 117 (N. W.) from London. Two new ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under the act 6th and 7th Victoria, cap. 37; called, respectively, St. John's and St. James'. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wednesbury St Bartholomew was formerly a chapelry in Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire EP
Wednesbury St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|WEDNESBURY ST BARTHOLOMEW PARISH (1561) Online Records|
|FREG||1569-1828, 1882-1884||1813-1863, 1926-1934||1569-1926|
Delves, The Good Shepherd, Staffordshire was a chapel of ease to this parish until 1875
Wednesbury St Andrew (Kings Hill) was formed as a Mission church to this parish.
|WEDNESBURY ST ANDREW (KINGS HILL) PARISH Online Records|
Wednesbury St Paul (Wood Green) was formed as a Mission church to this parish in 1875
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
St Mary's Roman Catholic Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ST MARY'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH (1852) Online Records|
Primitive Methodist Chapel (Fallings Heath) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (FALLINGS HEATH) (1866) Online Records|
Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1873) Online Records|
Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]
FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1868-1873
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 494-498. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 28 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.