Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset|
|County||Somerset, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Not Applicable|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Dean and Chapter of Wells|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WELLS, (Cathedral of St Andrew the Apostle), a city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wells-Forum, east division of Somerset, 19 miles southwest from Bath, 19 miles south of Bristol; with that part of St. Cuthbert's parish, outside the city's limits.
The city by 1870 was comprised of the in-parish of St. Cuthbert (registers commence from 1609), which surrounds the cathedral precincts, St Thomas Chapel, created and built by 1858 and the three district chapelries of (East) Horrington (registers begin in 1845), Coxley (registers begin in 1845), and Easton (registers begin in 1848).
In the town are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wells Cathedral St Andrew, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|WELLS CATHEDRAL PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.