Welney, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Welney, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Mary's Church Welney
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Downham|
|Parish registers: 1642; For more records see Upwell|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1710|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WELNEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Upwell, union of Downham, partly in the hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, and partly in the hundred of Clackclose, W division of Norfolk, 10 miles SW from Downham.
Also look at Welney, Norfolk Genealogy.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Partly in Cambridgeshire until 1889
Church records[edit | edit source]
Welney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Welney Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Because Welney is partly in the county of Norfolk, also look at Welney, Norfolk Genealogy for more records.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 506-509.Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.