To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

West Chelborough, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from West Chelborough, Dorset)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
West Chelborough

Guide to West Chelborough, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Chelborough, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tollerford
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Beaminster
Registration District Beaminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHELBOROUGH (West), a parish in Beaminster district, Dorset; 3¾ miles WNW of Evershot railway station, and 5¼ NE of Beaminster.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

West Chelborough Online Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1673
.
Indexes 1732-1879 Ancestry[2] 1673-1811 Joiner[3]
1673-1835 findmypast[4]
1702-1725 findmypast[5]
1790-1812 Ancestry[6]

West Chelborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
West Chelborough Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1673-1840

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  4. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  7. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.