West Dean St Andrew (West Sussex), Sussex Genealogy
Guide to West Dean St Andrew,West Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Dean St Andrew (West Sussex), Sussex|
|Hundred||Westbourne and Singleton|
|Poor Law Union||Westbourne|
|Parish registers: 1554|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1592; Separate records exist for Binderton beginning 1592|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DEAN, WEST (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Westbourne, hundred of Westbourne and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N.) from Chichester; containing, with the tything of Chilgrove. The parish is on the road from London to Chichester by way of Midhurst. The church is an ancient cruciform structure, in the early English style, with a square embattled tower; the south transept was rebuilt in 1810. Several small Roman sepulchral urns have been found under the downs, above Chilgrove, at which place was formerly a chapel. 
West Dean is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex.
West Dean St Andrew (West Sussex) is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Chilgrove and Binderton.
The church of St Andrew has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
West Dean St Andrew (West Sussex), Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|West Dean St Andrew (West Sussex), Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Binderton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Binderton Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Dean, West
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Adapted 9 May 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.