West Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to West Drayton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|West Drayton, Nottinghamshire|
West+Drayton St+Paul Nottinghamshire.jpg
|Type||Ecclesiastical Parish (England)|
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1632|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DRAYTON, WEST, a chapelry, in the parish of East Markham, union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (N. W. by N.) from Tuxford. 
West Drayton St Paul was formed originally as a chapelry in East Markham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish and as an Ecclesiastical Parish from 1632.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of this church and parish West Drayton St Paul
The church of St Paul has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
West Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|West Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives West Drayton St Paul Baptisms 1632-1902 Marriages 1633-1977 Burials 1632-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1846
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Drayton, West
West Drayton, St Paul's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1749, inside and outside the church, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 48-49, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..