West Grinstead, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to West Grinstead, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Grinstead, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Horsham|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GRINSTED, WEST (St. George), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of West Grinsted, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex,and seven miles South from Horsham. There is a Roman Catholic chapel, endowed by the Caryll family. The church is a very neat edifice, containing some Norman details, of which the south doorway is a rich specimen, and consisting of two aisles, with a low tower surmounted by a shingled spire; it contains the sepulchral chapel of the family of Burrell, in which are several highly interesting monuments. There is a Roman Catholic chapel, endowed by the Caryll family.
West Grinstead St George is an Ancient Parish in the Horsham District of West Sussex.
The iron mission church of Partridge Green was formed from this parish and in 1890 became Partridge Green, St Michael, Sussex from part of this parish.
West Grinstead describes the history of the church.
The Parish Church of St George West Grinstead has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed Building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
West Grinstead, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|West Grinstead, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Grinstead, West
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.