To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

West Hoathly, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to West Hoathly, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Hoathly, Sussex
St Margaret of Antioch West Hoathly Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HOATHLY, WEST, a parish, in the union of East Grinsted, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. W. by S.) from East Grinsted. The church is partly in the early and partly in the decorated English style, with a tower surmounted by a spire. At Bunch Grove is a small licensed place of worship for the Established Church. There is a meeting-house for dissenters.[1]

West Hoathly is an Ancient Parish which included Burleigh Arches Manor, Old House and White Hart, The Rocks, New Combes and Old Combes, Duckells and Stoneland, Gravety, Clarkes Manor, Selsfield, and South Malling-Lindfield Manor.

The ecclesiastical parish of Highbrook, Sussex was formed from this parish.

A history of the Church West Hoathly St Margaret

The Parish church of St Margaret of Antioch has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

West Hoathly Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Countess of Huntingdon's Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Dunstan (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also West Hoathly Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Mid Sussex Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records[edit | edit source]

West Hoathly parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
West Hoathly Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/WestHoathly/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 521-524. Adapted 17 May 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch