West Leake, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: West Leake, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|West Leake, Nottinghamshire|
St Helena West Leake Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Loughborough|
|Parish registers: 1616|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1622|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LEAKE (WEST), is a parish, with a village, in the district of Loughborough, and county of Nottingham; on an affluent of the river Soar, 2 miles SE of Kegworth railway station, and 5½ N by W of Loughborough. The post town is, Loughborough.
West Leake St Helena is an Ancient Parish.
Church history West Leake St Helena
The church of St Helena has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
The modern parish is united with
Costock, Nottinghamshire Genealogy St Giles
Rempstone, Nottinghamshire Genealogy All Saints
Stanford on Soar, Nottinghamshire Genealogy St John the Baptist.
See also West Leake Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
West Leake, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WEST LEAKE PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives West Leake St Helena Baptisms 1606-1901 Marriages 1617-1903 Burials 1617-1897 Bishop's Transcripts 1622-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Leake, West
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.