To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

West Stoke, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to West Stoke, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Stoke, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bosham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STOKE, WEST, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Bosham, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3½ miles North West from Chichester. The church, which is beautifully situated in Stoke Park, is in the early English style, and contains a handsome monument to the Stoughton family.[1]

West Stoke along with East and West Ashling are villages within the Funtington village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex. Funtington Wikipedia

West Stoke St Andrew is an Ancient Parish and included West Ashling.

The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches West Stoke St Andrew

The church of St Andrew has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

West Stoke Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) and St Andrew church

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

West Stoke, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
West Stoke, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1560-1880 1564-1875
PRTS 1560-1906
1564-1902
1555-1909
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stoke, West

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Westhampnett Poor Law Union,Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/WestStoke/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 220-224. Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.