West Tarring, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to West Tarring, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Tarring, Sussex|
|County||Sussex, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Preston|
|Parish registers: 1540; Separate registers exist for Durrington beginning 1626 and for Heene beginning 1594|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610; Separate records exist for Durrington beginning 1683 and for Heene beginning 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TARRING, WEST, (St. Andrew,) a parish, in the hundred of Tarring, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex, one and a half mile North West from Worthing. The church is in the early English style, with later additions, and consists of a nave, aisles, and chancel, with a lofty tower surmounted by a handsome octagonal spire. The ancient parsonage-house was formerly of much greater size, and is thought to have been a manor-house or palace occasionally inhabited by Thomas a Becket, who is said to have brought from Italy the fig-tree from which the whole parish has been abundantly stocked.
West Tarring is a neighborhood in the borough of Worthing West Sussex.
West Tarring St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Heene, Salvington, Durrington, West Worthing, and Tarring.
A history of the church West Tarring St Andrew
St Peter High Salvington was formed from part of this parish see Durrington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Symphorian Durrington was formed from this parish Durrington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Michael (Roman Catholic) Durrington List of demolished worship places in West Sussex
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|West Tarring Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Sussex|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Sussex ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- The Genealogist Parish Registers -Sussex ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 300-303. Adapted 16 May 2013