Westbourne, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Westbourne, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Westbourne and Singleton|
|Poor Law Union||Westbourne|
|Parish registers: 1549|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1572|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BOURNE, WEST (St. John the Baptist), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Westbourne and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 7¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Chichester. On the south is Thorney Channel. The church is a neat commodious structure in the later English style, with a well-proportioned spire of oak: the principal entrance is approached by an avenue of eight yew-trees, remarkable for their size; and on the arch of the doorway are carved the heraldic bearings of Lord Maltravers, with an inscription almost illegible, of about the time of Edward IV.
Westbourne St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex. Southbourne, Sussex was a chapelry of Westbourne.
Other places in the parish include: Prinstead, Woodmancote, Aldsworth, Hermitage, and Nutbourne. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Emsworth, Hampshire and is the most westerly church in the Diocese of Chichester.
The Church of St John the Baptist which dates from the late 14th century was restored in 1865 and has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
A history of the church and images and also that of the hamlet Mission Church of Woodmancote Bourne St John the Baptist and Woodmancote Mission Church
The hamlet of Woodmancote near Chichester should not be confused with the Ancient parish of Woodmancote, Sussex elsewhere in West Sussex
Other places of worship include
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Westbourne, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Westbourne, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Westbourne St John the Baptist
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap1550-1998 Marr 1550-1987 Bur 1550-1942
Bishop's Transcripts 1572-1904
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-317. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.