Westfield, Sussex Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Battle|
|Parish registers: 1552|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WESTFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Battle, hundred of Baldslow, rape of Hastings, East division of Sussex, six miles East by South from Battle. This parish is bounded on the north by the Brede channel, and intersected by the new road from Hastings into Kent.
Church history Westfield St John the Baptist
The parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Westfield genealogical and local history site "A Pleasant View of Westfield" for all enquiries of a genealogical or local historical nature direct from the Parish of Westfield taken from original parish records www.westfieldhistory.co.uk or email email@example.com
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.
Ceertiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Church records[edit | edit source]
Westfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Westfield Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 517-519. Adapted 16 May 2013
- Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.