Westmorland, England Genealogy
|Westmorland Wiki Topics|
Guide to Westmorland ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Westmorland (or sometimes Westmoreland) was an inland county located in the upper north-western part of England. The County of Westmorland ceased to exist in 1974, when local government in England was re-organised. From that date, all of the geographical area of Westmorland became part of the new county of Cumbria.
"WESTMORELAND is an inland... Much of the scenery is romantic or picturesque; and that in the west forms a main part of the features of the English lake region... The county contains 31 parishes and a part; is divided into Kendal borough, and East, West, Kendal, and Lonsdale wards... comprises 487,567 acres... The only town with more than 2,000 inhabitants is Kendal; but there are about 220 smaller towns, villages, and hamlets... '
Newspaper Archives[edit | edit source]
Parishes[edit | edit source]
A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T U W
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Westmorland.
Civil Districts[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Cumberland & Westmorland Online Parish Clerks
- Online Genealogical Index
- 1930 - England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). See the full account on Vision of Britain.