Whitstable, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Whitstable, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Whitstable All Saints Kent
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Blean|
|Parish registers: 1549|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WHITSTABLE (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Whitstable, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 5¾ miles NNW from Canterbury. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. 
Whitstable is a seaside town in Northeast Kent and is within the City of Canterbury district of the county. See Whitstable Wikipedia.
Whitstable was an Ancient parish in the Hundred of Whitstable and there was a parish with detached portions anciently.
It refers to a number of Anglican churches in the modern era which serve the town and the ancient parish boundary of earlier centuries. The following churches are within the modern Whitstable parish boundaries:
- Whitstable All Saints, the original Ancient Parish church of the town from which the subsequent parish was formed. The present church was rebuilt in 1876-1876 by Charles Barry, Junior. The church of All Saints, Church Street, has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building and has a churchyard which includes 18th century gravestones with skull, hourglass or bones motifs.
- Whitstable St Peter which was initially a mission church to All Saints and built 1902-1925 in stages to present church see Church History blog site and Kent Churches
- Whitstable St Alphege dates from the 1840s see church website Church website and Kent Churches website
There are 5 churches in the Whitstable Team ministry and a map of the Whitstable parishes may be found at A church near you
Whitstable St Andrew Kent Churches website
Other faiths include: St John's Methodist Church (former Wesley Chapel) Argyle Road, dating from 1868 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Whitstable parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Whitstable Online Parish Records|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for Whitstable are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832.
- Images for the Borough of Harwich in the Division of St Augustine 1780-1831
Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 505-517. Date Accessed: 2 December 2013. of Harwich, Kent at British History Online begins his description of Whitstable hundred of Whitstable, "excepting the small borough of Harwich, which the hundred of Westgate claims over".
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- Kent Census
- 1841 Census returns for Whitstable are missing.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 555-557. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.