Widcombe, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Widcombe, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Somerset, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Bath|
|Parish registers: 1574; Separate registers exist for Lyncombe beginning 1843|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813; Separate records exist for Lyncombe beginning 1813|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WIDCOMBE, a tything, in the parish of Chewton Mendip, union of Clutton, hundred of Chewton, E. division of Somerset, 5 miles (S. W. by S.) from Pensford. WIDCOMBE, Somerset.—See Lyncombe. LYNCOMBE with Widcombe (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Bath, hundred of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset; besides the parish church, a modern church dedicated to St. Mark, and Dolmead chapel, are both connected with the living. Widcombe St Thomas a Becket is an Ancient Parish in the county of Somerset. Other places in the parish include: Lyncombe and Bath St Mary de Stalls.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Widcombe, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free|
|WIDCOMBE PARISH Online Records|
|FREG||1574-1913||1612-1754, 1813-1837, 1843-1913||1592-1840|
Lyncombe registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Lyncombe Online Records|
Somerset Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.
- Widcombe Baptist Church History includes contact information.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.
- 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.