Wigton, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Wigton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wigton|
|Parish registers: 1604|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Township History[edit | edit source]
WIGTON (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the ward, and E. division of the county, of Cumberland; it contains the townships of Oulton, Waverton, and Woodside-Quarter. Of the early history of this place little is recorded.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wigton, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|Wigton, Cumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Records on microfilm
Parish registers for Wigton, 1604-1952
Bishop's transcripts Wigton, 1663-1879
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Independent/Congregational - Baptisms, 1823-1836 and burials, 1835-1836
- Primitive Methodist - Church records, 1868-1963
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- United Presbyterian Church of Scotland - Church records for Carlisle United Presbytery, 1847-1876
- Wesleyan Methodist - Church records, 1838-1902
- Wesleyan - Births and baptisms, 1824-1837
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Wigton on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.