Willingdon, Sussex Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Eastbourne|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1593|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WILLINGDON, a parish, in the union of Eastbourne, hundred of Willingdon, rape of Pevensey, East division of Sussex, two and one- forth miles North by West from Eastbourne. The village is pleasantly situated on elevated ground, on the road from London to Eastbourne. The church, principally in the early English style, contains portions in the decorated and later styles, with a square tower, and some interesting monuments to the Parker family.
Willingdon St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex and includes both villages of Upper and Lower Willingdon. The civil parish is that of Willingdon and Jevington Willingdon and Jevington Wikipedia
A history of the church Eastbourne St Mary Willingdon
The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin Church Street Willington and Jevington has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Langney was formerly part of this parish see Langney Christ the King (Roman Catholic), Sussex
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email email@example.com
Church records[edit | edit source]
Willingdon, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Willingdon, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Willingdon
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 579-581. Adapted 16 May 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.