Windham County, Vermont Genealogy
Guide to Windham County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- This article is about Windham county in Vermont. For other uses, see Windham (disambiguation).
| Windham County, Vermont | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Vermont, United States Genealogy | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 22, 1781 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Newfane |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Windham County Courthouse Mailing Address: P.O. Box 207, Newfane, VT 05345-0207 Phone: 802-365-7979 Fax: 802-365-4360 Windham County Website |
Contents
Description[edit | edit source]
The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [1]
Windham County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1825 | 1766 | 1781 | 1790 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1825; Probate Judge has probate records.[3]
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Athens 1780
Brattleboro 1753
Brookline 1794
Grafton 1754
Guilford 1754
Halifax 1750
Jamaica 1780
Londonderry 1780
Marlboro 1751
Newfane 1753
Putney 1753
Rockingham 1752
Townshend 1753
Woodbury 1781
Westminister 1752
Whitingham 1770
Wilmington 1751
Windham 1795 [3]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Created 22 February 1781 from Bennington County. [3]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]
Towns:
Extinct Towns:[5]
- Acton
- Somerset
Villages:
|
|
|
Communities:
- Algiers
- Brattleboro
- West Brattleboro
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Bennington | Windsor | Franklin County, Massachusetts | Cheshire, New Hampshire | Sullivan, New Hampshire
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| VTGenWeb Archives | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| VTTombstone Project | FamilySearch Places | |
| VTInterment | ||
| VTGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Vermont Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- List of Windham County Cemeteries
- Random Acts VT Cemetery Records Research Guide
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 17,572 | — |
| 1800 | 23,581 | 34.2% |
| 1810 | 26,760 | 13.5% |
| 1820 | 28,457 | 6.3% |
| 1830 | 28,748 | 1.0% |
| 1840 | 27,442 | −4.5% |
| 1850 | 29,062 | 5.9% |
| 1860 | 26,982 | −7.2% |
| 1870 | 26,036 | −3.5% |
| 1880 | 26,763 | 2.8% |
| 1890 | 26,547 | −0.8% |
| 1900 | 26,660 | 0.4% |
| 1910 | 26,932 | 1.0% |
| 1920 | 26,373 | −2.1% |
| 1930 | 26,015 | −1.4% |
| 1940 | 27,850 | 7.1% |
| 1950 | 28,749 | 3.2% |
| 1960 | 29,776 | 3.6% |
| 1970 | 33,074 | 11.1% |
| 1980 | 36,933 | 11.7% |
| 1990 | 41,588 | 12.6% |
| 2000 | 44,216 | 6.3% |
| 2010 | 44,513 | 0.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments and Companies:
- - 1st Regiment, Vermont Heavy Artillery, Companies A B C D E F G and H
- - 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- - 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies D, F and I
- - 16th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B, D, F and I
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Windham County residents.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1749 - 1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 - 1921 Vermont Probate Files 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
There are two Windham County Probate Districts:
- Marlboro District - Brattleboro, Dover, Dummerston, Guilford, Halifax, Marlboro, Newfane, Somerset, Stratton, Vernon, Wardsboro, Whitingham and Wilmington.
- Westminster District - Athens, Brookline, Grafton, Jamaica, Londonderry, Putney, Rockingham (including Bellows Falls), Townshend, Westminster and Windham.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at Vermont, Windham County Westminster District Probates - FamilySearch Historical Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Town Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2005 - Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1732 - 2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1850 - 2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:
- Birth Certificate,
- Marriage Certificate ,
- Divorce Certificate,
- Civil Union Dissolution Certificate, or
- Death Certificate
Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
Historical Societies[edit | edit source]
Dover Historical Society
1829 Harris House
63 Copper Hill
West Dover Village
Dover, VT
PO Box 128
East Dover, Vermont 05341-0053
Phone: 802-384-6849
E-mail:patriciahbuck@earthlink.net
Historical Society of Windham County
Vermont Rte 30 Main Street
PO Box 246
Newfane, VT 05345
Phone: 802-365-4148
E-mail:info@historicalsocietyofwindhamcounty.org
Website
Brattleboro Historical Society, Inc
Municipal Building
230 Main Street, 3rd floor
History Center
196 Main St
Brattleboro, VT
Phone: 802-258-4957
E-mail:histsoc@sover.net
Website
Dummerston Historical Society<brPO Box 8064
North Brattleboro, VT 05304
Phone: 802-257-0674
Guilford Historical Society
1822 Town Hall
Guilford Center Road
236 School Road
Guilford VT 05301
Phone: 802-257-0147
E-mail:pulpitfm@myfairpoint.net
Jamaica Historical Foundation
3417 VT Rte 30
Jamaica, VT 05343
Phone: 802-257-0147
E-mail:dkameden@svcable.net
E-mail:jamaicavthf@gmail.com
Marlboro Historical Society
364 South Road
PO Box 109
Marlboro, VT 05344
Phone: 802-258-2568
E-mail:forrest810@gmail.com
Putney Historical Society
Museum in Town Hall
Route 5
PO Box 260
Putney, VT 05346
Phone: 802-387-4411
E-mail:info@putneyhistory.us
Website
Saxtons River Historical Society
Main Street
PO Box 18
Saxtons River, VT 05154
Phone: 802-869-2566
E-mail:luring@vermontel.net
Townshend Historical Society
PO Box 202
Townshend, VT 05353
Phone: 802-365-4400
E-mail:ths@dugrenier.com
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Vermont Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog FamilySearch Catalog for Windham County
- The Windham County VTGenWeb Project, a member of The VTGenWeb Project , an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Windham County
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Windham, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Windham County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699, Windham County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Windham_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Vermont accessed 29 October 2019.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394-95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
| ||||||||
