Winlaton, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Winlaton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Durham, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Gateshead|
|Parish registers: 1828|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1833|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WINLATON (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Gateshead, E division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham, 5 miles WSW from Newcastle-upon-Tyne. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Presbyterians, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion; and four parochial schools, in connexion with the National Society. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes =[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Winlaton Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Durham ($)|
|Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Durham ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Durham ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- England, Northumberland, Cumberland, Durham, Miscellaneous Records (FamilySearch) - free
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
Ambrose Crowley  http://webspace.webring.com/people/lg/gv23.geo/sirambrose.html
Sir Ambrose Crowley[edit | edit source]
Ambrose Crowley began his career in the seventeenth century in Stourbridge, where his father, another Ambrose Crowley, had built up a big iron business. After his mother’s death, family circumstances changed: his father remarried and becames a Quaker. The young Ambrose left in 1689, taking with him expertise gathered in the iron trade. He began in London, he gathers capital to invest in the North-East: first in Sunderland, then at Winlaton, on the fast-flowing Derwent (a tributary of the Tyne). Using the cheap shipping from London to Sunderland (ships were travelling in ballast) he developed in Sunderland an iron nail works. Traditionally iron nails were a Midlands manufacture.
During the period 1707-9 his undertakings in Co. Durham contained two slitting mills, two forges, four steel furnaces, many warehouses, and innumerable smithies producing a wide variety of ironmongery.
From entry for Sir Ambrose Crowley in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography:
He imports iron from Sweden and converts it to a variety of artefacts that he sends to London, where he has a warehouse at Greenwich and a shop, the “Doublet”, in Thames Street.
He went on to become the biggest ironmonger in the London, with contracts to supply all the naval dockyards.Knighthood and a career in politics followed.The firm which Crowley founded was continued by his son John and by his grandsons and lasted well into the reign of Queen Victoria, prospering from all the wars in the century following his death in 1713.