Guide to Winnebago Tribe ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.
To get started in American Indian Research
Various Spellings: Winnebago, Winebago, Winnebaygo, Wennebago
Ancestral Homeland: near the Door Peninsula, near Green Bay on
Lake Michigan- East Wisconsin and South of Green Bay
Clans: Thunderbird, Eagle, War People,Pigeon, Hawk, Wolf, Bear, Water Spirit, Elk, Deer, Buffalo, Fish,and Snake
Tribal Leaders:Red Bird, White Cloud,
[edit | edit source]
Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska
P.O. Box 687
Winnebago, NE 68071
- Winnebago Indian Official Website
History[edit | edit source]
Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1634: French Jesuit priest, Jean Nicolet
- 1689-1763: French and Indian War fought with the French
- 1775-83: Revolutionary War - fought with the British
- 1809-11: Tecumseh's Rebellion fought against the British
- 1812: War of 1912, The tribe espoused the cause of England, helped to defeat Colonel Crogran at Michilimokinac, Colonel Dudley at the Rapids of the Miami, and General Winchester at the River Raisin.
- 1827: Uprising (Winnebago Wars) lead to forced removal west of the Mississippi; one cause: white miners (lead) on Indian lands east of the Mississippi River.
- 1832: Black Hawk War allies with Sac and Fox Tribes
- 1832: Ceded land in Wisconsin for land in north eastern Iowa.
- 1833-1852: Emigration and removal
- 1836: Smallpox epidemic killed many
- 1840-1863: Forced relocation: 700 tribal members died; after the Black Hawk War forced to relocate west of the Mississippi,
- 1840: removed from Wisconsin to Iowa
- 1846: Tribe removed to Long Prairie, Minnesota
- 1848: Relocated to Long Prairie Reservation,Minnesota
- 1853 removed to Crow River.
- 1855: Treaty relocated to Blue Earth, Minnesota
- 1857: Blue Earth River Reservation
- 1862: Sioux War Uprising in Minnesota
- 1862: Removed to Crow Creek Reservation, near Pierre, South Dakota and on to North Dakota
- 1863-64 Tribe abandoned Crow Creek Reservation and relocated on Omaha Reservation in northeastern Nebraska. Out of 2,000 taken to Crow Creek only 1,200 reached the Omaha Reservation.
- 1865: the Omaha tribe sold a strip of their reservation to the Government, who deeded it to the Winnebago tribe.
- Winnebago Reservation in northeastern is in Thurston County, Nebraska,
- 1865: Settle on Omaha Reservation, Nebraska
- December 1873 - January 1874: removal of 1,000 Winnebago Indians from Wisconsin to Nebraska.
- 1874: Additional land were allotted to them
- 1916: Stevens Act, made allotments of Omaha and Winnebago Indians in Nebraska.
- 1934: Became federally recognized under the Indian Reorganization Act.
Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]
Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Winnebago tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America and in David Bushnell's Villages of the Algonquian, Siouan and Caddoan Tribes West of the Mississippi.
Hymen Lubman. A History of the Nebraska Winnebago Indians. 1962. FHL book 970.3 W73q
Reservations[edit | edit source]
A reservation is a tract of land set aside for occupation and use use by American Indians.
From the mid-1800's, the official policy of the United States government toward the American Indian was to confine each tribe to a specific parcel of land called a reservation. Agencies were established on or near each reservation. A government representative, usually called an agent (or superintendent) was assigned to each agency. Their duties included maintaining the peace, making payments to the Native Americans based on the stipulations of the treaties with each tribe, and providing a means of communication between the native population and the federal government.
Sometimes, a single agency had jurisdiction over more than one reservation. And sometimes, if the tribal population and land area required it, an agency may have included sub-agencies.
The boundaries of reservations, over time, have changed. Usually, that means the reservations have been reduced in size. Sometimes, especially during the later policy of "termination," the official status of reservations was ended altogether.
The following list of reservations has been compiled from the National Atlas of the United States of America, the Omni Gazetteer of the United States of America, and other sources. There are no current federally-recognized reservations in Illinois.
Long Prairie Reservation
Blue Earth River Reservation
Agency[edit | edit source]
Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value were created by these offices.
The following list of agencies that have operated or now exist in Illinois has been compiled from Hill's Office of Indian Affairs..., Hill's Guide to Records in the National Archives Relating to American Indians, and others.
Superintendencies[edit | edit source]
Records for Superintendencies exist in the National Archives and copies of many of them are also available in other research facilities.
The Winnebago Indians were under the jurisdiction of the following superintendencies: Michigan Superintendency, St. Louis Superintendency, Wisconsin Superintendency, Iowa Superintendency, Minnesota Superintendency, Northern Superintendency, and Dakota Superintendency.
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Correspondence and Census[edit | edit source]
|Tribe||Agency||Locality of Original Records||
M 234 RG 75 Rolls 962
M595 RG 75 Rolls 693
|Winnebago||Wind River Agency, 1898-1955||Denver||-||-||Rolls 663-71||583122-583129|
|Winnebago||Prairie du Chien Agency, 1824-42||Washington D.C.||Rolls 696-702||-||-||-|
|Winnebago||Turkey River Subagency, 1842-46||Washington D.C.||Rolls 862-64||-||-||-|
Census[edit | edit source]
Grand Rapids - 1916-17, 1919-25 FHL film 576857
Great Lakes - 1936-40 FHL film 576859-576860
Tomah - 1911-1916, 1927-1936 FHL film 583029-583031
Treaties[edit | edit source]
- 1816 June 3, at St. Louis
- 1825 August 19, at Prairie du Chien with the Sioux, Etc.,
- 1827 August 11, at Butte des Morts, with the Chippewa
- 1828 August 25, at Green Bay
- 1829 August 1, at Prairie du Chien
- 1832 September 15,
- 1837 November 1, at Washington
- 1846 October 13, at Washington
- 1855 February 27, at Washington
- 1859 April 15, at Washington
- 1865 March 8, at Washington
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
1924-1931 Births and Deaths (Census) FHL Film: 583126
1925-1932 Births and Deaths (Census) FHL Film: 583127
Important Websites[edit | edit source]
- Constitution and By-Laws of the Winnebago Tribe Winnebago Reservation in the State of Nebraska. Approved April 3, 1936.
- Winnebago Indian Official Website
- Winnebago Reservation Wikipedia
References[edit | edit source]
- National Atlas of the United States of America -- Federal Lands and Indian Reservations Available online.
- Isaacs. Katherine M., editor. Omni Gazetteer of the United States of America. U.S. Data Sourcebook, Volume 11 Appendices, Bureau of Indian Affairs List of American Indian Reservations, Appendix E, Indian Reservations. Omnigraphics, Inc., 1991.(Family History Library book 973 E5)
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches, Clearwater Publishing Co., Inc. 1974. (Family History Library book 970.1 H551o.)
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981. (FHL book 970.1 H551g.)
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
- Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives; Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- Hodge, Frederick Webb. Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1906 Available online.
- Klein, Barry T., ed. Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. Nyack, New York: Todd Publications, 2009. 10th ed. WorldCat 317923332; FHL book 970.1 R259e.
- Malinowski, Sharon and Sheets, Anna, eds. The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1998. 4 volumes. Includes: Lists of Federally Recognized Tribes for U.S., Alaska, and Canada – pp. 513-529 Alphabetical Listing of Tribes, with reference to volume and page in this series Map of “Historic Locations of U.S. Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Canadian Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Mexican, Hawaiian and Caribbean Native Groups” Maps of “State and Federally Recognized U.S. Indian Reservations. WorldCat 37475188; FHL book 970.1 G131g.
- Vol. 1 -- Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean
- Vol. 2 -- Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America
- Vol. 3 -- Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau
- Vol. 4 -- California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands
- Sturtevant, William C. Handbook of North American Indians. 20 vols., some not yet published. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1978– .
- Volume 1 -- Not yet published
- Volume 2 -- Indians in Contemporary Society (pub. 2008) -- WorldCat 234303751
- Volume 3 -- Environment, Origins, and Population (pub. 2006) -- WorldCat 255572371
- Volume 4 -- History of Indian-White Relations (pub. 1988) -- WorldCat 19331914; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.4.
- Volume 5 -- Arctic (pub. 1984) -- WorldCat 299653808; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.5.
- Volume 6 -- Subarctic (pub. 1981) -- WorldCat 247493742; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.6.
- Volume 7 -- Northwest Coast (pub. 1990) -- WorldCat 247493311
- Volume 8 -- California (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 13240086; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.8.
- Volume 9 -- Southwest (pub. 1979) -- WorldCat 26140053; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.9.
- Volume 10 -- Southwest (pub. 1983) -- WorldCat 301504096; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.10.
- Volume 11 -- Great Basin (pub. 1986) -- WorldCat 256516416; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.11.
- Volume 12 -- Plateau (pub. 1998) -- WorldCat 39401371; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.12.
- Volume 13 -- Plains, 2 vols. (pub. 2001) -- WorldCat 48209643
- Volume 14 -- Southeast (pub. 2004) -- WorldCat 254277176
- Volume 15 -- Northwest (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 356517503; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.15.
- Volume 16 -- Not yet published
- Volume 17 -- Languages (pub. 1996) -- WorldCat 43957746
- Volume 18 -- Not yet published
- Volume 19 -- Not yet published
- Volume 20 -- Not yet published