Winton St Mary Magdalene, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

History[edit | edit source]

Winton St. Mary Magdalene Parish Church on Grasmere Crescent / Westbourne Road Winton is an Ecclesiastical Parish created from Worsley, Lancashire Genealogy  Ecclesiastical parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records[edit | edit source]

Winton St Mary Magdalene, Lancashire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][1]
Winton St Mary Magdalene, Lancashire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1908-1915 1908-1915

Winton- St Mary Magdalene
Banns-1922-1950- MFPR 2063
Baptisms-1908-1930- MFPR 2063
Baptisms-1930-1959- Archives L242
Marriages-1922-1950- MFPR 2063
Marriages-1950-1957- Archives L242

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for Winton, 1908-1951 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Winton was a church in Worsley parish. It became a parish in 1922. The church was known as St. Mary Magdalene's.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 242.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1908-1931. Marriages, 1922-1951. Banns, 1922-1950.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356398 Items 2 - 7


Census records[edit | edit source]


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Barton upon Irwell Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Manchester, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1915', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.