Wisbech, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Wisbech, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Wisbech|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WISBECH (St. Peter and St. Paul), a sea-port, borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 43 miles N from Cambridge, and 94 N by E from London. The town is situated on both sides of the river now called the Nene. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Johnsonians, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and Unitarians.
WISBECH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 3 miles NW from the town of Wisbech: containing, with the chapelry of Guyhirn.
Wisbech St Augustine became a parish in 1869.
Known as Wisbech or Wisbeach.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wisbech St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Wisbech St Peter Online Parish Records|
|FS BTs||1715-1730, 1739-1788||1715-1730, 1739-1788||1715-1730, 1739-1788|
|FS BTs||1731-1738, 1788-1813||1731-1738, 1788-1813||1731-1738, 1788-1813|
- Parish registers of Wisbech St. Peter & Paul 1850-1950, St. Augustine & Chapel of Ease or Octagon Chapel at FHL
- Parish registers for Wisbeach-St. Peter, 1558-1950 at FHL
- Bishop's transcripts for Wisbeach-St. Peter's Church, 1600-1869 have been digitised.
Wisbech St Mary, Cambridgeshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wisbech St Mary, Cambridgeshire Online Parish Records|
|FS BTs||1813-1867||1813-1840||1813-1843, 1846-1865|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
See Family History Catalogue for Wisbech films containing non-conformist records.
- General Baptist
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends (Quaker)
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Wisbech on GENUKI
Wisbech St. Augustine on GENUKI
Wisbech St. Mary on GENUKI
Wisbech St. Peter and Paul on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]