Wiston, Sussex Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Thakeham|
|Parish registers: 1638|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1570|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WISTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of Steyning, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex, one and one-half mile (N. N. W.) from Steyning. The church, situated in the park, is chiefly in the decorated style, and consists of a nave, chancel, and south aisle, at the east end of which is a sepulchral chapel; there are monuments to Sir William Shirley, Sir Thomas Shirley and his wife, and several of the Gorings.
A history of the church Wiston St Mary with images (the church is adjacent to Wiston Hall which is used by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office for conferences and is on private land within Wiston Park and photography may therefore only be undertaken from a distance from public roads and rights of way)
The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated asa grade II* listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wiston, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Wiston, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wiston
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 21 May 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 9 January 2021.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.