Witham on the Hill, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Witham on the Hill, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Witham on the Hill, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beltisloe
County Lincolnshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Bourne
Registration District Bourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Beltisloe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WITHAM-ON-THE-HILL (St. Andrew),a parish in the union of-Bourne, wapentake of Beltisloe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4¼ miles (S. W.) from Bourne with the hamlets of Lound, Manthorpe, and Toft. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Witham on the Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Witham on the Hill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1813-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

Digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Witham on the Hill Par 1 will identify available images. Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street, Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue. Search FamilySearch Catalogue Witham on the Hill

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available. FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries. Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com. The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bourne Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire Genealogy

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851 fckLR*Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/WithamleHill/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 17 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk