Withersdale, Suffolk Genealogy
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WITHERSDALE parish comprises 184 souls, 880 acres of land, in several detached portions intermixed with other parishes; and a pleasant village, which has a suburb in Mendham parish, and is distant 3 miles S.E. of Harleston, and 6 1/2 miles N.E. by N. of Stradbroke. Captain Rayley is lord of the manor, but part of the soil belongs to Lord Henniker, Nathaniel Micklethwaite, Esq., Mr. Thomas Barham, George Rant, Esq., and a few smaller owners. The copyholds are subject to arbitrary fines. The Church (St. Mary) is a small antique fabric, with a wooden belfry, in which hang two bells...... William White, 1844 Gazetteer of Suffolk; page 477 The View of Pictures of the Withersdale Parish Church
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Withersdale and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
|Project members: Refer to Suffolk Talk Page for details about developing this page.|
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Withersdale, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|WITHERSDALE PARISH Online Records|
Parish registers begin in 1653. They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office. A copy of the registers from 1653 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre-1813 Bishop Transcript entries, you will need to look in Hoxne Deanery, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are considerable for Mendham. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.
Census records[edit | edit source]
There are census records available for Withersdale from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Withersdale Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Withersdale was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
- National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
- England Jurisdictions 1851 maps - see parish in context with surrounding parishes also determine various ecclesiastical and civil jurisdictions for this parish
- Withersdale on Google maps - see lay of the land as it is today
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
- 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 629-633. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.