Woodhouse, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Woodhouse, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Woodhouse, Shropshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Extra-parochial area (England) |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Stottesden |
| County | Shropshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Cleobury Mortimer |
| Registration District | Cleobury Mortimer |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Not Applicable |
| Diocese | Not Applicable |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Search the courts of the surrounding parishes |
| Location of Archive | |
| Shropshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WOODHOUSE, a quondam extra-parochial tract in Hopton-Wafers parish, Shropshire; near Cleobury-Mortimer. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Woodhouse parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Woodhouse Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS PRs | 1538-1918 | 1538-1918 | 1538-1918 | |||
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538-1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| FMP | 1538-1900 | 1538-1906 | 1518-1900 | |||
| FMP Banns | 1754-1900 | |||||
| ANC | 1538-1812 | 1538-1812 | 1538-1812 | |||
| TGEN | 1538-1800s | 1538-1800s | 1538-1800s | |||
| JOIN | 1538-1837 | |||||
| BOYD | 1538-1850 | |||||
| IGI | ||||||
| FS Catalog PRs | ||||||
| FS Catalog BTs | ||||||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records may be found on Mel Lockie. Records are also available at the Shropshire Archives.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
- ↑ Searching Parish Records online (Shropshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
