To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Woodlands, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Woodlands, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Woodlands, Kent
Woodlands St Mary Kent.jpg
Woodlands St Mary Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrotham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WOODLANDS, a chapelry in Wrotham and Shoreham parishes, Kent; 4 miles SW of Meopham railway station. [1]

Originally a chapelry within Wrotham, Kent Ancient Parish Woodlands St Mary became an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1850, later linked to Kingsdown and Kemsing, Kent St Mary.

For further history Kent Archaeological Society

The parish is to the north of Kemsing and neighbours Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, Kent to the north.

This parish should not be confused with Woodlands, Dorset or Woodlands, Hampshire or the church of the same name in Berkshire.

See Church website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Woodlands parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Woodlands Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Family History Library film numbers
Woodlands

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats, merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.

Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteerof England and Wales. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.