Worcester St Alban, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Worcester St Alban, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Worcester St Alban, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Worcester|
|Parish registers: 1630|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1634|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WORCESTER, a city, a county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the county of Worcester, of which it is the capital, Worcester and W. divisions of the county, 111 miles (N. W. by W.) from London. The city comprises the parishes of St. Alban, All Saints, St. Andrew, St. Clement, St. Helen, St. Martin, St. Nicholas, St. Peter, and St. Swithin. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
The original records are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the
For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/searches/locresult_details.asp?LR=781
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and the bishop's transcripts. To find the microfilm numbers for the parish registers, look in the FamilySearch Catalog under England, Worcester, Worcester and find St. Alban mixed in with other parishes for the city of Worcester. The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester are not filed by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different microfilm. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish has been compiled and is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed and adapted: 31 October 2013.