Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Worksop St. Mary and St. Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WORKSOP (St. Mary and St. Cuthbert), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 26 miles (N.) from Nottingham, and 146 (N. N. W.) from London; containing, with the chapelry of Shireoaks, and the townships of Gateford, Haggonfield, Osberton, Radford, and Scofton. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans; and, near the site of the manor-house, a chapel for Roman Catholics, who are numerous in the neighbourhood. 
Worksop Priory, St Mary and St Cuthbert is an Ancient Parish in the market town and included within its boundary Shireoaks and Haggonfield, Ratcliffe, Worksop and Radford, Clumber, Gateford, Haggonfield, Hardwick, Rayton, Manton, Kilton, Ryton, Scofton, Shireoaks, Sloswick, and Radford. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Anston cum Membris, Yorkshire Genealogy and Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire Genealogy.
From this parish were formed:
Worksop St John British listed building
Worksop St Anne British listed buliding
The Priory church of St Mary and St Cuthbert and priory remains have been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Church records[edit | edit source]
Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives
Worksop Priory (St Mary & St Cuthbert) Baptisms 1559-1939 Marriages 1559-1936 Burials 1558-1908 Bishop's Transcripts 1609-1857
Worksop St John Baptisms 1867-1953 Marriages 1871-1938
Worksop St Anne Baptisms 1911-1956 Marriages 1913-1954 Burials 1947-1957
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert
Note that from 1876 Scofton St John was formed from this parish
Scofton St John
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1876-1901 together with Sutton cum Lound Sutton cum Lound, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Marriages 1878-1979 Burials 1878-1960
Scofton - St. John's. Transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions of the St. John's Church Yard, dating from 1884, giving surname, given name, born and death date, and age at death. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.87, page 17, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Worksop Bastardy Order 1809. An examination of Ann Newbound in the Parish of Worksop, against her because Richard Rogers got her with child, 29 June 1809. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD4P 67/80. Transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, page 74, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n also another Order in 1823, examination of Mary Candlin, and that John Houlden father of the child. Original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD4P 67/84, Nottinghamshire Vol. 117, page 75. and another Worksop Bastardy Order 1822 of Sarah Laughton of Worksop and William Rhodes being the father of the child. Original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD4P 67/83, Nottinghamshire Family History Soc Magazine, vol 117, page 75 FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Newton, M. Nottingham Journal - of Newark, Gainsborough, Retford, Worksop, Mansfield, Chesterfield, Grantham and Sheffield Advertiser - January 11th 1800, Nottinghamshire Regiement of militia - List of Volunteers Discharged into his Majesty's Regular Forces. Article gives date of Discharge, persons name, and Parish dated July 22nd-November 10th. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 88 pages 24-27, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
1811 Census - Worksop. Census of Worksop taken on 10 March 1811, showing given name, and surname head of household, and number of males, and females in each household This was done for taking an account of the population of Great Britian. Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR M420, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 18-33, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..