Wormsley, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Wormsley, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wormsley St Mary Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Weobley|
|Parish registers: 1595|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WORMSLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Grtmsworth, county of Hereford, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Weobley; containing 109 inhabitants, and consisting of 1180 acres. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of Sir W. R. Boughton, Bart., and others. Thomas Andrew Knight, Esq., the celebrated horticulturist, was a native of this place. 
Wormsley St Mary is an Ancient Parish. Wormsley is part of the Brinsop and Wormsley civil parish in Herefordshire.
The church of St Mary, Wormsley has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
The redundant church of St Mary is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
St. Owens Street
Phone 01432 260565
Fax 01432 261720
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wormsley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wormsley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre houses many parish registers. See The records we hold for a list of records available there. How to contact them:
- Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre
Fir Tree Lane
Hereford HR2 6LA
Telephone: +44 (0)1432 260750
Website: Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 673-687. Accessed and adapted 16 July, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.