Wye, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Wye, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wye St Gregory & St Martin Kent
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Ashford|
|Registration District||East Ashford|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1566|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WYE (St. Martin and St. Gregory), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Wye, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 56 miles (E. S. E.) from London. 
Wye is a village and within the civil parish of Wye with Hinxhill in the Ashford district of Kent. Wye Kent Wikipedia
Wye St Gregory and Saint Martin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury. See also Wye benefice website
The church of St Mary Goodcheap Lane Wye has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The Parish Church of St Gregory and Saint Martin, Church Street, has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Kent Archaeological Trust Architectural and historical information about the parish church
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wye, Kent Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free|
|Wye, Kent Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FMP||1538-1912||1538-1912||1730-1837; 1754-1919 (Banns)||1730-1837; 1754-1919 (Banns)||1538-1901||1538-1901|
- Parish register originals deposited Canterbury Cathedral Archives nos.: U3/174/1/A1-A4, B1-B4, C1-C4, D1-D5, E1-E3.
- St Gregory and St Martin original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives. Some early pages damaged. Nos.: DCa/BT/217; DCb/BT1/269; DCb/BT2/341
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Wye are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831
See also images for Borough of Newbridge Newbridge borough is part of the parish of Wye.
See also images for Borough of Brensford. Brensford borough is part of the parish of Wye.
See also images for Borough of Town 1780-1831. Town borough may refer to the town of Wye. This series of images are for Wye, Town Borough, division of Ashford and refer to Coombe and Little Coombe within the parish.
Crundale, Kent Genealogy is a parish contiguous with Wye.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator’s schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats, merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator’s schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 698-703. Date accessed 08 May 2013
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.