Wyoming, United States Genealogy
|Wyoming Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Wyoming ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
This article is about the U.S. state. For other uses, see Wyoming (disambiguation).
Wyoming Information[edit | edit source]
Wyoming became the forty-fourth state admitted to the United States on 10 Jul 1890 and has 23 counties. Wyoming was created form Wyoming Territory and is located in the northwest region of the United States. Its capital is Cheyenne.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Wyoming Research[edit | edit source]
Links to articles on getting started with Wyoming research.
Wyoming Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Links to articles and websites that assist in Wyoming research.
Wyoming Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
- Big Horn
- Hot Springs
Wyoming Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Wyoming genealogy sites on the internet
- Wyoming Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Wyoming
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Wyoming
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Wyoming genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Wyoming
- Wyoming Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Wyoming Biography Database 7,317 entry index to biographical profiles of individuals from Wyoming.
- Wyoming Newspaper Project: This is a work in progress, there are over 721,138 full page newspaper images loaded.
- Wyoming Blacksheep Ancestors Includes 1930 WY census of prisoners and insane, WY executions 1884-1965, and WY lynchings 1874-1918.
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wyoming" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyoming (accessed 15 March 2016).