Wyoming Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wyoming Wiki Topics
Wyoming flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wyoming Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Moderator
 

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Wyoming became the forty-fourth state admitted to the United States on 10 Jul 1890 and has 23 counties. Wyoming was created form Wyoming Territory and is located in the northwest region of the United States. Its capital is Cheyenne.[1] It will not be included in the early United States Censuses.


United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1850 1860 1870 1880 1890
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1900 1910 1920 1930 1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for Wyoming[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1890 Veterans Ancestry.com ($)
1880 Mortality Ancestry.com ($)
1870 Mortality Ancestry.com ($)
1860 Mortality Ancestry.com ($)
1850 Mortality Ancestry.com ($)

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1925 State; no names given, statistical only. Contact Wyoming State Archives
1915 State; no names given, statistical only. HathiTrust - images
1878 City of Cheyenne only; includes names. Contact Wyoming State Archives
1875 City of Cheyenne only; includes names. Contact Wyoming State Archives
1869 Territorial; includes names. Contact Wyoming Archives
1856 Utah Territorial Census included Green River (Fort Bridger), Wyoming; includes names. Ancestry ($) - index
1850 (i.e 1851) Used as the 1850 federal census for Utah, it includes Green River Precinct (Fort Bridger), Wyoming; includes names. Ancestry ($) - index

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Wyoming" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyoming (accessed 15 March 2016).