Yardley, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Yardley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Solihull|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
YARDLEY (St. Edburgh), a parish, in the union of Solihull, Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Northfield and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 4½ miles (E.) from Birmingham. Hall Green or Job Marston Chapel is another chapel built within the boundary of Yardley Parish, with parish registers commencing from the year 1704 up to at least 1840, which also see.
Gazetteer / Directory Entries YARDLEY, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of HALFSHIRE, county of WORCESTER, 4½ miles (E.) from Birmingham, containing 2313 inhabitants. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Worcester, rated in the king’s books at£9.19.4½., and in the patronage of Edmund Wigley, Esq. The church, dedicated to St Edburgh, exhibits various specimens of the English style of architecture, with a fine tower and spire of the later date; it has lately received an addition of one hundred and twenty sittings,, of which one hundred are free, the incorporated Society for the enlargement of churches and chapels having granted £100 towards defraying the expense. Here are various bequests, producing a considerable income, for the education and relief of the poor. Great quantities of tiles are made in the neighbourhood, and conveyed to Birmingham, whence they are sent by the canals to various parts of the kingdom. [Lewis 1831]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|WWOPC = Warwickshire Online Parish Clerk (OPC)|
YARDLEY PARISH (1539) Indexes - ancient parish
|HALL GREEN Chapelry (or JOB MARSTON CHAPEL)(1704) Indexes|
|ST MARY, ACOCKS GREEN Chapelry (1867) Indexes|
|ST CYPRIAN, HAY MILLS Chapelry (1878) Indexes|
|HAY MILL MISSION Chapel (1864) Indexes|
|YARDLEY WOOD Chapelry (1849) Indexes|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Two popular sites are:
West Midlands BMD - partial index to the county
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 19 October 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.