Yarlet, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Yarlet, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Type||Extra-parochial area (England)|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Stafford|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
YARLETT, a liberty, in the parish of St. Mary, Stafford, locally in that of Weston-upon-Trent, S. division of the hundred of Pirehill, union, and N. division of the county, of Stafford, 4 miles (N.) from Stafford, on the road to Stone. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Yarlet is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. England Jurisdictions 1851 may be helpful.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-716. Date accessed: 01 November 2012.