Yauco, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Yauco family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Before the Spanish settlers founded, Yauco, the Taíno (the indigenous people of the Caribbean) inhabited the area for hundreds of years. The Yauco area was the capital of what is now modern day Puerto Rico and was governed by the most powerful chief on the island.
In 1756, after the Spanish settlers built a place of worship satisfying one of the Spanish Government's requirements to establish a municipality, the Spanish Government granted the settlement of the town of Yauco. Starting in the 19th century and going into the early 20th century, hundreds of families emigrated from Corsica, most of them settling in the Yauco area. These immigrants were instrumental in further developing the economy of Puerto Rico, especially the coffee industry. Immigrants also came from Italy, France, Portugal, Ireland, Scotland, and Germany. Yauco is divided into 21 barrios.
Yauco population is approximately 46,384. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Yauco, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Yauco, Puerto Rico," in Wikipedia: The free encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yauco,_Puerto_Rico. Visited October 27, 2020.