Guide to Yemen ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Yemen Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Yemen is a country in the Middle East bordered by Oman and Saudi Arabia Genealogy. North Yemen became independent of the Ottoman Empire in 1918. The British, who had set up a protectorate area around the southern port of Aden in the 19th century, withdrew in 1967 from what became South Yemen. North Yemen and South Yemen formally unified as the Republic of Yemen in 1990. The official language is Arabic.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Yemen Research
Links to articles on getting started with Yemen research.
Yemen Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Yemen research.
Yemen Map[edit | edit source]
Governorates[edit | edit source]
Yemen is divided into 22 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah):
- Al Jawf
- Hadhramaut (mainland) and Socotra (off-shore)
- Al Mahrah
- Al Mahwit
- Amanat Al Asimah (Sana'a City)
- Al Hudaydah
- Al Bayda
- For electoral and administrative purposes, the capital city of Sanaa is treated as an additional governorate.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Yemen," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yemen, accessed 19 April 2016.